Give a Dog A Home

The Starfish Story
January 23, 2004 9:27 p.m. Friday

Last night I had planned to post a bunch of dogs who need homes here, but after checking various websites and seeing so many of their sad faces, it was too depressing to do.

I get an average of nine twelve visitors a day to this diary. Not much at all but I certainly appreciate each and every one of you. I have no idea if anyone has ever adopted one of the dogs shown here after reading about them. But, you know, even if the only result of doing this was getting one person to think twice about going to a pet store for a puppy and to consider adopting a dog, (or even a cat, guinea pig, hamster, rabbit, etc) from their local animal shelter instead, it would be totally worth the time I put into this thing. Not that it's a huge amount. It just takes me awhile sometimes because I make typos and fail to see them when I read through everything before posting it, and I still tend to make stupid mistakes when writing the code for links. Just now I had a 99% finished entry and I just somehow deleted the entire thing a minute ago. Grrrrrrr.

Anyway, as sad and depressing as it is to do this, I will continue to do my small part, and hopefully, it will make a difference to at least one dog.

I guess now would be a good time to put up the starfish story...

A man walked down the beach, noticing thousands of starfish on the shore. He came across a boy who, recognizing that the starfish would die out of the water, was one by one, throwing them back in the water. He asked the boy what possible difference his efforts could make, given there were so many starfish. The boy paused, looked at the starfish in his hand and answered, "It makes a difference to this one." -original author unknown

And, now on to some dogs who need homes...[click the Next button]
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Previous Entry - Next Entry


The last five entries:
National Dog Bite Prevention Week May 16-22 - May 21, 2004
URGENT: Two Shih Tzu in VA Need a Home by Thursday - May 19, 2004
Ohio Puppies Need Homes ASAP - May 19, 2004
New Jersey's Animal Friendly License Plates - May 17, 2004
Swiffer Wet Jet Rumor - May 14, 2004
Navigation
Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Rings
Information About This Diary
Contact Me

My Dogs
Sammi
Maggie
Sophie

Links
Shih Tzu Rescue Groups
100 Ways To Help Rescue
Blinddogs.com
Animal Friendly License Plates
Shih Tzu Needing Rescue Yahoo group

Dog Blogs
Modern Pooch
Eric's Dog Blog
Read Larry Powell
Dog Each Day
Doggy Bloggy!


Thank you!
Host: Diaryland
Design: Diaryland (sort of)


pet adoption