Give a Dog A Home

Winston Needs a Home in Northern California
September 25, 2003 10:47 p.m.

This is today's entry in my other diary. I'm also putting it here because I want to get the word out about Winston #3.

Back when I was volunteering for a dog rescue, I heard about two Shih Two in one of the local kill shelters. I called to find out more information on them only to be told one had been put down. The other one was being kept in isolation because he had some kind of skin disease. I don't remember all the details but this was right before the 4th of July and the animal control officer who I spoke to agreed to hold the dog until after the holiday to give us time to go get him. But somehow the person who was supposed to go bail the dog out never went. When I found out about that the next day, I got very worried and headed for the shelter, which was out in the Valley and nearly two hours from my house. I had no plan. Just that I was going to get this dog out of there before it was too late.

Well, to make a long story not so long, another rescuer got to the shelter before I did, bailed the Shih Tzu and took him home. Eventually, I caught up with her at her house. I remember we were talking in her kitchen and I was crying over not being able to save the kennel mate of the Shih Tzu. She told me the starfish story...you know, a man is walking on the beach which is covered with starfish. He sees a boy picking them up, one by one and throwing them back in the ocean so they won't die. The man tells the boy that it really won't make any difference since there are so many starfish on the beach. And the boy says, Well, it makes a difference to this one.

Sometimes when I hear about yet another dog who needs a home, I remind myself of that story and I do get some comfort from it. But I still can't help thinking about the ones that got away. Anyway, the Shih Tzu, who was later named Winston by the rescue, eventually found a wonderful home.

Earlier this year, I heard about another doggie named Winston in need of a home. This little guy was a 13 yr old cockapoo who had been turned in to the pound by his owner for some reason. Like a 13 yr old dog really has a good chance of being adopted by the general public. Luckily, a rescue group got poor Winston out of there and I bet he is now in a great home.

Well, now we have Winston #3. This one is a senior Shih Tzu mix who was adopted out once already but returned because it didn't work out. So he's available for adoption once again. (Only click the link if you're in Northern California and have been searching for an older dog to adopt. Everybody else can skip it.)

I know I harp on this a lot here but this is important to me. Please, please, please remember to spay and neuter your pets. Leave the breeding to the professionals. Don't buy anything (and that especially includes dogs) from pet stores who sell puppies (this is the only way to put the puppy mills out of business). And, if you're looking for a dog, don't forget there are many terrific ones at your local pound, animal shelter or rescue group. Petfinder is good place to start your search.

Oh yeah...here is an "after" picture of the first Winston (yes, it's the same dog behind the kennel bars at the top of the page):


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Previous Entry - Next Entry


The last five entries:
National Dog Bite Prevention Week May 16-22 - May 21, 2004
URGENT: Two Shih Tzu in VA Need a Home by Thursday - May 19, 2004
Ohio Puppies Need Homes ASAP - May 19, 2004
New Jersey's Animal Friendly License Plates - May 17, 2004
Swiffer Wet Jet Rumor - May 14, 2004
Navigation
Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Rings
Information About This Diary
Contact Me

My Dogs
Sammi
Maggie
Sophie

Links
Shih Tzu Rescue Groups
100 Ways To Help Rescue
Blinddogs.com
Animal Friendly License Plates
Shih Tzu Needing Rescue Yahoo group

Dog Blogs
Modern Pooch
Eric's Dog Blog
Read Larry Powell
Dog Each Day
Doggy Bloggy!


Thank you!
Host: Diaryland
Design: Diaryland (sort of)


pet adoption