Give a Dog A Home

No Blogathon This Year
March 22, 2004 12:00 a.m. Monday


I was just at Petfinder and discovered they had message boards (I guess I never got around to clicking all the links on the homepage on all my previous visits). There's a board there to post fundraising ideas to help rescue groups and shelters so I thought I would post about the upcoming Blogathon and suggest participating in it as a way to raise money. First, though, I checked the Blogathon website for any news about the event and found out there won't be one this year.

I am really disappointed there won't be a blogathon happening this July. My wonderful sponsors pledged over $400 last summer, and although I know a couple of them stiffed Lhasa Happy Homes, I do believe they received close to that amount. I was really looking forward to doing it again this year. Instead of using my other diary, I had planned to use this one and every half hour, I would post a dog who needed a home and a link to a rescue group's website.

So, now what? There's a link at the Blogathon site about some Live Journal users having their own version of a blogathon but I'm not a member of Live Journal so that doesn't help me much. Maybe someone at Diaryland can do something similar. Any takers? I wouldn't even know here to start to get it off the ground but I'd help in any way I could.

Or maybe I can just pick a day to stay up for 24 hrs and post entries here, and when I'm done, everybody can send money to one of my favorite Shih Tzu rescues. Just a thought.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Previous Entry - Next Entry


The last five entries:
National Dog Bite Prevention Week May 16-22 - May 21, 2004
URGENT: Two Shih Tzu in VA Need a Home by Thursday - May 19, 2004
Ohio Puppies Need Homes ASAP - May 19, 2004
New Jersey's Animal Friendly License Plates - May 17, 2004
Swiffer Wet Jet Rumor - May 14, 2004
Navigation
Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Rings
Information About This Diary
Contact Me

My Dogs
Sammi
Maggie
Sophie

Links
Shih Tzu Rescue Groups
100 Ways To Help Rescue
Blinddogs.com
Animal Friendly License Plates
Shih Tzu Needing Rescue Yahoo group

Dog Blogs
Modern Pooch
Eric's Dog Blog
Read Larry Powell
Dog Each Day
Doggy Bloggy!


Thank you!
Host: Diaryland
Design: Diaryland (sort of)


pet adoption