Give a Dog A Home

Introduction & Information About This Diary
January 23, 2003 6:38 a.m. Thursday

A few years ago, I volunteered with Lhasa Happy Homes, a rescue organization for Shih Tzu, Lhasa Apsos and other small breed dogs in the Los Angeles area. Until I find another group to help, my rescue efforts are all online. I moderate a group on Yahoo for Shih Tzu that need rescue and one for Lhasa Apsos. I still check other rescue message boards and email lists, and try to pass the posts on to somebody who might be able to help.

I know this won't be the typical Diaryland journal, but this format will be fine. I'm not sure how often I'll update this thing. I guess whenever I feel like ranting about something -- the stupidity of some dog owners is always a favorite subject of mine -- or to share a story or article that somebody else wrote. Or to highlight a dog who needs a home. Even if only one dog finds a home through this site or one person decides not to breed their dog and gets her spayed instead, it will be well worth it.

The stories, essays and poems on this diary that were not written by me may be used elsewhere but please give credit to the original author. Thank you.

If a link to Petfinder comes up as Error or Expired or as a blank screen when you click it, it means the dog is no longer listed on the Petfinder site for some reason. Let's hope it's because the dog has been adopted.

I'm really not that active in Shih Tzu rescue these days but I still have contacts in various states so please email me if you're interested in adopting a Shih Tzu or Lhasa Apso. Or even another breed. I might be able to help you.

Every rescue group is always in desperate need of volunteers -- to foster dogs, to help at adoption events, to do home checks, to walk dogs, to transport them. There are at least one hundred things a person can do to help. Please click 100 Things You Can Do Help Rescue to see what they are. Even if all you can do now is online, please consider helping. And, don't forget your local humane society or animal shelter can use the help as well. It can be heartbreaking work but it is also very rewarding. You truly are saving lives.

Again, please email me with any questions or suggestions you have. Thanks for reading!


UPDATE:My original plan for this diary was to highlight dogs who needed homes, especially the ones who did not have much time left to find a one. I also wanted to share some of the rescue essays and stories I have received via email. Well, it has changed somewhat in that I'm not really posting that many dogs now, only because there are other websites out there that do a much better job of it. My diary is still dog-related though and I will continue to promote adopting dogs through a rescue organization or animal shelter.


-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Previous Entry - Next Entry


The last five entries:
National Dog Bite Prevention Week May 16-22 - May 21, 2004
URGENT: Two Shih Tzu in VA Need a Home by Thursday - May 19, 2004
Ohio Puppies Need Homes ASAP - May 19, 2004
New Jersey's Animal Friendly License Plates - May 17, 2004
Swiffer Wet Jet Rumor - May 14, 2004
Navigation
Current Entry
Archives
Profile
Rings
Information About This Diary
Contact Me

My Dogs
Sammi
Maggie
Sophie

Links
Shih Tzu Rescue Groups
100 Ways To Help Rescue
Blinddogs.com
Animal Friendly License Plates
Shih Tzu Needing Rescue Yahoo group

Dog Blogs
Modern Pooch
Eric's Dog Blog
Read Larry Powell
Dog Each Day
Doggy Bloggy!


Thank you!
Host: Diaryland
Design: Diaryland (sort of)


pet adoption